Opera Unite Ending Support :(

These are very disappointing news. 😦 Opera is ending support for Unite to focus more on extensions.

If you believe that Unite should continue to be supported. ➡ Please Sign This Petition.

Opera also will kill IRC, BitTorrent, Voice and Widgets. 😮 😯 😡

Many people still don’t know these changes are coming. 😦

Originally posted by Nasty:

I cannot believe it! How can you drop Opera Unite..!?? If I can not agree – I forcefully do not agree for this move!

  • What about sharing files directly from my computer – without need to upload them to any server/dropbox and such – which is very troublesome especially for big files. Being independent from such services.
  • What about sharing pictures with friends directly from my computer – hassle free, just point to a folder with pictures and they are shared. No need to upload them to MyOpera Albums, flickr or anywhere…
  • What about streaming my whole music collection directly from my computer – no need to copy/upload and take it anywhere. Ability to play it from any place…

When Opera Unite was introduced, I called it a platform for running private web applications – no need to log in to any server/site, I have my own server/site, which immediately has access to all my data on my hard drive. It is something of great value. How are you going to provide it with extentions..??

It was also designed in beatifully simple way – easy to use, started right from panels. Click, point a folder and done! No waiting for uploading files anywhere. Awesome! Will you move the Unite applications to extentions so they work this way?

Even if you will somehow move these functionalities into extentions, there are tons of extentions now – how can I find this good old, reliable Unite Applications? Please make a separate category or distinguish/mark them somehow.

Finally, I would like to remind you a post announcing Opera Unite. It points out the advantages: http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/2009/06/16/freedom

Looking for freedom? Do you want to share things with who you want, when you want? Do you want to stay in touch with your friends, chat and collaborate, without your data being at the mercy of middlemen? Now, with your own web server, you’ll be ready to do all this directly from your computer.

The two way internet is here, and with Opera, you’re at both ends whenever you run it.

What has changed since then? I cannot see these ideas devaluated. They are invariably attractive and lively today.

And what about the vision of Opera Unite described on the page below – the vision of Taking the Web into our own hands, one computer at a time? Do you leave us alone on cold, with the described problems and no solution..? 😕
http://dev.opera.com/articles/view/labs-taking-the-web-into-our-own-hands-one-computer-at-a-time/

Please Sign This Petition.

7 thoughts on “Opera Unite Ending Support :(

  1. Pingback: It is time now to abandon ship | A Sneak Peek On Things I Like

  2. Pingback: Opera Presto 1994-2013 | A Sneak Peek On Things I Like

Leave a Reply

