LXLE and SeaMonkey

seamonkey-banner LXLE to switch to SeaMonkey as a default browser in their distros! 😎

The decision to switch to SeaMonkey as the default web browser for LXLE is something not taken lightly.

The SeaMonkey project is a community effort to develop an all-in-one internet application suite. Such a software suite was previously made popular by Netscape and Mozilla, and the SeaMonkey project continues to develop and deliver high-quality updates to this concept. Containing a web browser, email & newsgroup client with a feed reader, HTML editor, IRC chat and an Address Book. SeaMonkey also has longevity under its belt plus a very close overall relationship with Mozilla. It uses much of the same source code which powers Firefox and Thunderbird while legal backing is provided by the Mozilla Foundation.

The LXLE Desktop

It’s nice to see another Linux distro choosing SeaMonkey as their default browser! 😎 Specially, in this crazy era of stripped-down and bland browsers. 🙄

I think Linux can benefit greatly from suites because Linux doesn’t have a universal way to install or uninstall software across all the their distros. There is always a challenge when I want to find a specific app and install or compile it in my Puppy Linux machine. It just not as smooth as Mac OS or Windows. :/

Other cool power-users suites or browsers with rich features that I’m playing with are:

Just to name a few. 😉

6 thoughts on “LXLE and SeaMonkey

  1. So many good things have fallen by the wayside. 😦
    I have to find a new distro now that Crunchbang is no more. Bunsen/BunsenLabs doesn’t seem to be getting anywhere so I’ll probably install LXDE/Debian until I find something better. (or make something better myself.)
    As for browsers, I’ve sold out and switched to Google-Chrome for general surfing. I still have Iceweasel for those more sensitive tasks though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Although, I’m not a Linux expert, I have been happy using Puppy Linux. Maybe you wanna give it a spin. 😉

      I might try LXDE also. I like that it is lightweight like Puppy. 😎

      To me Google Chrome became the Internet Explorer of these times. Just too overrated. 😮

      I’d rather use IceApe! 😉

      Like

      • Puppy has it’s uses but I prefer it as a ‘Live-CD’ only distro. Chrome is one of those horrid realities you just have to accept. It sucks when compared to the old Opera browser but it sort of works and there really isn’t much choice left. Everything that ‘works’ is either based on Chrome or Mozilla. Everything else is feels like driving an ox-wagon down the N1. (The N1 is a highway from Jhb to Cape Town)

        On 24/06/2015, A Sneak Peek On Things I Like

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

