Microsoft Quietly Shuts Down MSN TV-WebTV

I remember the days of WebTV fondly. πŸ˜€ I used to have a Philips Magnavox WebTV Plus and I use it as a real computer for many years. In a way it was my first Laptop because I used to take it around to friends houses, hotels, etc… 😎

After the Micro$oft acquisition of WebTV the name was changed to MSN TV, and Micro$oft did what they always do. πŸ™„ Squeeze all the goods till there’s nothing left of the original company. Then close down what’s remaining and isn’t profitable. 😑

Although, I am surprise that it lasted this long. 😯

For me WebTV will always be my LBB (little black box). πŸ™‚

The look of the WebTV interface in the mid 1990s

 

Philips Magnavox WebTV Plus

Philips Magnavox WebTV Plus Keyboard

 

5 thoughts on “Microsoft Quietly Shuts Down MSN TV-WebTV

  1. I always viewed WebTV as rather an odd way to do things, but I had friends who were quite good with it. They got amazing things done with that device.

    Like

  2. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    It lasted THAT long?! I remember my ex-step dad using it when I was a mere kid.

    Yes indeed! I cancelled my service around 2008, but I stopped really using it around 2006.I think since the name change to MSN TV people started living in masses. I guess Microsoft waited for an X-number of users remaining to cancel.

    Like

  3. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    I always viewed WebTV as rather an odd way to do things, but I had friends who were quite good with it. They got amazing things done with that device.

    There were some cool unique things and tricks you could do with WebTV. :wizard: Back then WebTV was an inexpensive way to get on the internet because computer were really expensive and complicated to use for some.

    Like

  4. I actually loved my web TV plus, it was my first experience with internet access. I miss the joy of building audio scopes. I meant some absolutely wonderful people. A Good friend of mine created a uploader (the freeloader) for people on web TV to upload their images to a website and actually learn to build things without stealing bandwidth lol. He created wonderful chat rooms that were beautiful to look at. He also taught me basic HTML and I went on to teach myself more advanced HTML l so I could build what I wanted. Anyone who is into this side of web TV would remember the Craig D. The Prodigal son. Such a great guy. I sure miss those good old days. I mean I must admit I enjoy my much more modern setup now but I would have never learned what I learned without a web TV.
    Weathergirl@webtv.net (wish it still worked)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment